INTERVIEW: The Bunny The Bear

These questions were answered by Matt Tybor, vocalist of Buffalo bizarros The Bunny The Bear.

 

How did the band start up initially?

I originally started this project in 2008. I honestly never planned on it becoming a full time serious endeavour, but shit happens I suppose. I just wanted to do something fun and unique, so we could build on it.

 

And where did your band name come from?

That was completely random. I just said to myself ‘I’m going to start a band called The Bunny The Bear and run around in little kids plastic masks for the hell of it!’. And I did so… and here we are today.

 

How would you describe your music?

I’ve never really been able to answer this question with satisfaction. I suppose I would say fun and unique. Possibly a tad obnoxious (in the best way)!

 

Who or what would you say your biggest influences have been?

My family and my own stubborn attitude. Honestly, I’m never quite satisfied and always want to do more/get further. I’m not one for giving up, though there have been plenty of times I’ve considered such.

 

What has been your biggest challenge as a band?

There’s been so many! But I don’t know, probably just keeping this project rolling in general. There are always so many bumps in the road and sometimes it’s hard to keep driving. Time away from home has always been hard for me. I’m a homebody.

 

What has been your favourite show to play?

I’ve had a ton of favourite shows! There’s no way I could pick one or even ten! No way!

 

Have you got any crazy tour stories you’d be willing to share with us?

Damn, there are way too many to count and most of which I wouldn’t want to share.

 

How has your sound evolved over the years?

Honestly, I would just say it’s matured a lot. I think our latest album, Food Chain, is much more focused than any prior effort.

 

You’ve had quite a few different members over your time as a band, has this affected things in any way?

Not really at all. I’ve only had revolving touring musicians since since I’d say early 2012, so I’m pretty used to it at this point. Being the only songwriter has made it pretty easy to take out people I think are right for the current job and not have to worry about the sky falling when one of them can’t come out or has moved on to other things in their lives.

 

Your sound is quite unique and therefore can be a bit polarising, how have you found dealing with the negative comments?

I think I’ve learned how to ignore negativity… but honestly, I’m not sure I’ll ever be to the point where negative comments don’t affect me somewhere deep down. Truth is, you can never satisfy everyone so you just need to learn how to live with it.

 


 

You can check out The Bunny The Bear here:

Facebook

Twitter

Instagram

 

The Bunny The Bear have an upcoming tour across the United States with dates at the following venues:

February 11th – Albany, NY @ Bogie’s
February 12th – Hamden, CT @ The Space
February 13th – Providence, RI @ Simon’s 677
February 14th – Cambridge, MA @ The Middle East
February 15th – Trenton, NJ @ Championships
February 18th – Baltimore, MD @ Ottobar
February 19th – Richmond, VA @ The Camel
February 20th – Charlotte, NC @ Tremont Music Hall
February 21st – Atlanta, GA @ Masquerade
February 22nd – Jacksonville, FL @ Jack Rabbit’s
February 24th – Orlando, FL @ Backbooth
February 25th – Elizabethton, TN @ The Bonny Kate Theater
February 26th – Newport, KY @ Southgate House
February 27th – Akron, OH @ Musica
March 1st – Whitehall, PA @ Planet Trog
March 2nd – Staten Island, NY @ Hashtag Bar
March 3rd – Buffalo, NY @ The Waiting Room

 

You can order your copy of their latest album, Food Chain here.

Leave a Reply

