INTERVIEW: Revocation

These questions were answered by David Davidson, vocalist and guitarist of technical death/thrash metallers Revocation.

 

How would you describe your style of music?

The core of our sound is death/thrash, but there’s also a strong progressive influence as well.

 

What would you say the main message behind your music is?

I don’t think there is a singular message behind our music, it can mean so many different things to different people it’s a bit too hard for me to distil it down to one main theme.

 

Describe your songwriting process.

It all starts with a collection of riffs that I think fit well together. From there I start working out the arrangement in my head and eventually record a rough demo on my computer. Then I’ll send that demo to our drummer Ash so he can get familiar with the structure. Once we get in a room together, we start jamming through the parts until everyone is up to speed and then I’ll make some little tweaks here and there or the other guys will make some suggestions of ideas to try out arrangement wise. After all the parts feel solidified I’ll start working on lyrics, solos and melodies to complete the song.

 

How do you decide your setlist for shows?

We usually start a group text thread and bounce different songs off each other. Generally we’re usually all on the same page so it doesn’t take us too long to lock down a setlist.

 

Do you have a favourite show that you’ve played?

That’s a tough one seeing as we’ve been touring pretty solidly for the past few years. One show that sticks out in recent memory was a festival in Colombia called ‘Manizales Grita Rock’. There were about 14,000 people there, so that was a pretty unique experience since I’ve never played in front of a crowd that big before.

 

What is your favourite song to perform live?

Currently, ‘Madness Opus’.

 

What is your craziest tour story?

We were on tour with Darkest Hour and Periphery a few years back and I was trying to get Misha to stage dive since he had never done it. I tried to assure him that it was totally safe so I went off and dove into the crowd. The first time the crowd caught me and rested me safely on the ground, the second time however things didn’t quite go as planned and long story short the back of my head hit the concrete floor and I ended up in the ER with eight staples in my head. After all that I’m not surprised that Misha never followed my lead!

 

Does anyone in the band have any bad habits?

We all used to party a little too hard on tour, but we seem to be mellowing out as the years go by.

 

If you could go back to the beginning of the band, would you do anything differently?

No, I like to thank of any mistakes that we’ve made along the way as a learning experience.

 

And finally, any advice for young bands or people thinking of starting a band?

Try to find your own voice and be creative.

 


 

You can check out Revocation here:

Facebook

Twitter

Instagram

Leave a Reply

